Skip to content



Get in touch with us

All you need to know about the 2021 T20 World Cup

All you need to know about the 2021 T20 World Cup

West Indies required 19 runs to win from the final over, as Ben Stokes was elected to bowl. What followed next was one of the most dramatic turnaround of events that took place in sporting history. The world bore witness to the heroics of Carlos Brathwaite as he lashed the ball straight over the boundary line, not once, not twice, but four times. A wave of jubilations swept the field as West Indies won their second T-20 World Cup.

But the question now is, will they become the first ever team to defend their title? Well, only time will tell. As the much anticipated, high-octane format of the World Cup makes its way to the Middle-East. We're here to tell you all you need to know. 

How does the format work and which are the teams?

A total of 16 teams will participate in the World Cup. Sides from Group A and Group B will play the other teams in their respective group once, with the top two teams from each pool reaching the Super 12. 

The winners of Group A and the runners-up in Group B will join England, Australia, South Africa and West Indies in Group 1, while the winners of Group B and runners-up in Group A will progress to Group 2 alongside Afghanistan, India, New Zealand and Pakistan. The top two sides in each group after the Super 12 will make the semi-finals. Both semi-finals and the final have a reserve day in case of bad weather. 

How does the point system work?

In both rounds, a team will get two points for a win; one point for a tie, no result or abandonment; and zero points for a loss.

How much money is up for grabs? 

T20 World Cup money

Who were previous winners?



Won by

Runners Up

Player of the series

Top Run Scorer

Top Wicket Taker









Oman & UAE


West Indies

4 Wicket


Virat Kohli

Tamim Iqbal

Mohammad Nabi



Sri Lanka

6 Wickets


Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli

Ahsan Malik and Imran Tahir



West Indies

36 runs

Sri Lanka

Shane Watson

Shane Watson

Ajanta Mendis

Sri Lanka



7 wickets


Kevin Pietersen

Mahela Jayawardene

Dirk Nannes

West Indies



8 wickets

Sri Lanka

Tillakaratne Dilshan

Tillakaratne Dilshan

Umar Gul




5 runs


Shahid Afridi

Matthew Hayden

Umar Gul

South Africa


The Record Holders 

1. Batting record holders

How can we not talk sixes when we talk about T-20? Chris Gayle is the man to watch out for, and even if you don't he will surely make his presence felt. 

It's hard not mentioning Chris Gayle and sixes in the same sentence. He became the first batter to score a T20 century in the opening game of the 2007 T20 World Cup and sits comfortably where he rightly belongs. 

Record holders


Chris Gayle stands a chance of overtaking the Sri Lankan as he is only 96 runs behind.

Record holdersOut of players who've scored the highest individual runs, nobody other than Gayle will be taking part in the 2021 tournament. While Gayle hit the tournament’s first century, it was former New Zealand captain Brendan McCullum who recorded the tournament’s highest score – a 58-ball 123 against Bangladesh in 2012. 

Record holders

2. Bowling record holders

Both Sri Lanka and Pakistan round up the top-five, by showing their sides’ dominance with the ball at the tournament.

Bowling stats

It would require a lot to pull off numbers of this sort. Simply remarkable by these top 5 athletes.  

Stats T-20 World Cup

Before dismissing their Kenyan counterparts for just 88, Sri Lanka ran riots all over the pitch, showcasing their dominance in sublime fashion once again.  

Stats T20 World Cup

Sri Lanka once again made it to the record books after having dismissed Netherlands for a stalemate 39 – the lowest team total in the tournament’s history. Proving Sri Lanka, a team that cannot be ruled out whatsoever.  

ICC World Cup T20

Where are the games being played? 

1. Dubai International Stadium, Dubai, UAE


Dubai International

Dubai International Cricket Stadium has witnessed 62 matches in the T-20 format becoming the record-holder for the most men’s T20Is hosted. It will host 13 matches, including one semi-final and the final of this year’s T20 World Cup. 

2. Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah, UAE 

Sharjah cricket

First used for international cricket in 1984, Sharjah has hosted an incredible 263 international men’s matches – only the Sydney Cricket Ground (277) and Melbourne Cricket Ground (275) have hosted more games. The 240 men’s ODIs it has hosted is 91 more than the next most used venue, the SCG (159).

The T20 World Cup will be another chapter added to the famous ground’s story.  The venue will host 11 matches. 

3. Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi, UAE

Cricket ground

The second most used venue in men’s T20I history, Abu Dhabi’s Sheikh Zayed Stadium has hosted 48 matches in the format, and host 15 matches including one semi-final.

The ground’s first official international fixture came two years later when India played Pakistan in an ODI.

4. Oman Cricket Academy Ground, Al Amerat, Oman

Opened in 2012 it is the jewel in the crown of Omani Cricket. Holding official ICC Test accreditation, the ground has so far hosted 30 T20Is, as well as 15 ODIs. It will host six T20 World Cup matches. 

Are Fans Allowed Back In The Stadiums?

Fans are back 2021

Yes, In Oman, the stadium will host 3,000 fans while the UAE venues (Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah) will allow up to 70 percent capacity with all fans needing to be vaccinated with having to wear face masks once inside.

We're excited to watch the blue tigers in action as they take on Pakistan in their opening game of the competition. So hold tight as this tournament is one to sweep you off your feet. SportsEquip caters to your every need by providing authentic sports equipment right at your door-step. 

comment 1 comment

Reva calendar_today

Visit us for more update

T20 World Cup

Leave a comment

Free Delivery Nationwide

Your orders hand-delivered nationwide for FREE!

Quality Assured Products

Carefully Curated list of products handpicked to fuel your active lifestyle

Hassle Free Returns

Easy replacements and returns within 7 days

Secure Shopping

SSL encrypted and secure shopping experience at all times